My Thoughts on the 2005 Kdrama Biscuit Teacher Star Candy


So I started watching the 2005 Kdrama Biscuit Teacher Star Candy (aka: Hello My Teacher) two nights ago. Even though this is an older drama, I wanted to watch it because it stars Gong Hyo-jin and Gong Yoo. Gong Hyo-jin (from Pasta and Master’s Sun) and Gong Yoo (Coffee Prince and Big) are two of my very favorite Kdrama and Korean Movie Stars. 

Biscuit Teacher Star Candy
Biscuit Teacher Star Candy (aka Hello My Teacher)

I haven’t finished watching this yet, so I’ll probably follow up on it and comment some more when I’m done. My opinion on the drama may also change since I’m only about 7 episodes in at the moment. 

What it’s about: Na Bo-ri (Gong Hyo-jin) is a 25-year-old woman who wants to be a teacher at the high school she was kicked out of so she can work side by side with her longtime high school crush, the art teacher Ji Hyun-woo (Kim Da-hyun). To become a teacher at that school, she has to make sure Park Tae-in (Gong Yoo), stays out of trouble. Tae-in, is a lonely 20-year-old youth, who is a trouble maker, but also very popular. 

The cast and the acting: So Far, I’m not disappointed by the performances of the lead characters. As usual, they are fantastic. Gong Yoo is just wow, as always. He looks so handsome and makes you want to cry in moments where he is sad. Gong Yoo always makes me feel what he feels. He emerges himself into his characters to the point that I forget he’s acting. The character he plays has many layers. On the surface, he looks like an arrogant trouble maker but very quickly we discover he’s very lonely and has suffered a lot of hurt and abuse. 

Hello My Teacher
Student and Teacher
I can’t ever say anything negative about Gong Hyo-jin. She also becomes the roll she plays. She’s a very professional actress and I never notice her coming out of character. Even though this was back in 2005, she was still a seasoned professional.

It’s Pretty Funny: 
Some scenes really make me laugh. It has a good balance between drama and just plain hilarity. Some of it can be pretty ridiculous. There’s one scene where Na Bo-ri dresses up and dances and it’s pretty funny. 

Hello My Teacher
Who will she end up with? Her High School Teacher who has always been her love crush or her student?

I want to know what happens: I don’t want to get into any spoilers, so I’ll be careful to try not to reveal too much in case you haven’t seen it yet. What I will say is, I see a love triangle forming and I can’t tell at this point who she will end up with. Normally I would say she’ll end up with Gong Yoo’s character, whoever, he’s supposed to be a high school student so I’m not sure. 

Hello My teacher
Na Bo-ri and Park Tae-in

It’s a little corny and exaggerated: This isn’t really terrible though. It can be quite comical, but some of the fighting and scenarios are not very realistic. 

The OST is not that strong compared to some other dramas: I say this, but it is starting to grow on me. I can’t be too hard on it though, because it’s an older show.

If I were to rate it now, I’ll say 3.8/5 but this might change depending on how the drama develops. Have you seen this drama? What did you think of it? Let me know your thoughts!

4 thoughts on “My Thoughts on the 2005 Kdrama Biscuit Teacher Star Candy

  1. The beginning is terribly silly with the crazy fight scenes but all of that stops and never happens again, it settles down from establishing that the female lead had a legendary reputation in high school into a normal drama. It’s a really good drama with a strong female character. I can’t say I’m crazy about premise, with the power imbalance that implies, bur again it explores those issue well. When I am talking about power imbalance that means a situation that puts one person in a position to exploit another mentally and physically. I do not feel it glorifies teacher/student or adults having feelings for minors—I do not feel it is exploitative. This not the same as in BIG or Flower Boy Raymun Shop because the female leads were never the teachers of the male leads in those dramas (Eun-bi was a student teacher and quit, she was never Chi-soo’s teacher). In this drama, the female lead IS the male lead’s teacher, so that takes it to another level. All that said the male lead is 20 years old and the teacher is 25 years old. This is not really even an age or minor child issue here, it is really a power imbalance issue. The same power imbalance occurs in almost every k drama because almost all of them involve some financial or work related power imbalance, but the teacher student thing also incorporates a the age and minor issue. Again, really charming drama. The other students are good characters. It runs a little long and bogs down in the middle a bit, but over all a satisfying watch.

    Like

Leave a comment