Watching Innocent Thing (Thorn) with no subtitles – Korean Movie “Pre” Review


thorn innocent thing

As some of you may already know, the movie Innocent Thing (also known as Thorn) became available for purchase as of April 30th, 2014. It is not yet available with English subtitles, and may take some time before it is. Me, in my impatience, was plagued by curiosity and sat through the entire movie with no subtitles. No, I cannot understand or speak Korean. I’m getting better, but I won’t claim that me knowing the odd word hear and there means I understand everything. I did however begin my journey in honestly learning to speak Korean and have started seriously following audio lessons. Because I couldn’t understand everything that was said, I cannot with a clear conscience write a full review here now. I do feel I understood the story however, despite the fact and therefore I want to give you a bit of a “pre” review teaser to perk your interest and perhaps get you to give this scrumptious, but somewhat flawed (but not fataly) movie a try.

Thorn12

I must warn you though, this movie has some very explicit sexual scenes and other disturbing scenes. It’s rated R for a reason. Anything that occurred in the movie, stayed true to the story and the characters, but I will not pretend that it will appeal to everyone’s tastes.

Thorn5

People that will enjoy this movie the most in my opinion are

  • Jang Hyuk fans
  • People that love the obscure and twisted
  • Those that don’t mind feeling uncomfortable
  • Viewers that can handle very intimate/provocative scenes
  • Movie watchers that like to dissect/rip apart movies to find meaning but can find the good in imperfection as well as the bad

Now, for some teaser screen caps

Thorn8Thorn9thorn innocent thing kissthorn innocent thing kissThorn4Thorn11Thorn10Thorn6Thorn7

My Pre-subtitle critical rating: 3/5 

My Fangirl Bias rating: 4.8/5

My Jang Hyuk as Joon-Ki rating: 5/5

25 thoughts on “Watching Innocent Thing (Thorn) with no subtitles – Korean Movie “Pre” Review

      1. She showed him the true young love of the youth and by time her love gone insane and the bolder her obsession and the madness it grows which finally took her to take the wrong steps and starts to regard everyone related with Joon-ki as obstacles.

        Like

  1. No, I haven’t been able to find it as yet. I’ve noticed that quite a few people have watched it without subs; but I can’t seem to find the sites they’ve used. Thanks though

    Like

    1. honestly, I don’t think it’s available yet with subtitles. The only way I know of to watch it right now would be yo buy it or torrent with no subtitles.

      Like

      1. Thank you for responding. If I could trouble you further, do you know where I can buy or torrent it?

        Like

    1. I’ve watched it with subtitles and it turns out he never “went all the way with the young girl” (whew!) other than the first misstep where he stupidly have in to her flirting (dumb) and he thought he had killed her (and dumber) – it turns out it was all in her obsessed head. Which was fueled by his initially almost giving in to temptation. Never give a stalker a chance to reinforce their crazy belief that you like them. Although I don’t want to excuse Hyukie’s character – he’s a teacher, entrusted with young impressionable girls, yes, she was crazy…but what if she’d wasn’t?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I agree on that! btw, look how he kisses Young Eun with desperation almost like he is sucking the life out of her! almost like the way he smokes the first time :p

        Like

Leave a comment